India - Tariff Treatment on Certain Goods - Constitution of the Panel established at the request of Japan - Note by the Secretariat - Revision


Constitution of the Panel Established at the Request of Japan

Note by the Secretariat


1.     At its meeting on 29 July 2020, the Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) established a panel pursuant to the request of Japan in document WT/DS584/9, in accordance with Article 6 of the Understanding on Rules and Procedures Governing the Settlement of Disputes (DSU).


2.     The Panel's terms of reference are the following:


To examine, in the light of the relevant provisions of the covered agreements cited by the parties to the dispute, the matter referred to the DSB by Japan in document WT/DS584/9 and to make such findings as will assist the DSB in making the recommendations or in giving the rulings provided for in those agreements.

3.     Further to the agreement of the parties on the three panelists to serve in this dispute, the Panel was composed on 7 October 2020 as follows:


        Chairperson:    Paul O'CONNOR


        Members:         Samantha ATAYDE ARELLANO

                                Fabián VILLARROEL RÍOS


4.     Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, Indonesia, the Republic of Korea, Norway, Pakistan, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine[1], the United Kingdom, and the United States have reserved their rights to participate in the Panel proceedings as third parties.


[1] Ukraine notified its interest to participate as a third party after the Panel was composed.