Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures - Classical Swine Fever - Brazilian Experience in Regionalization - Communication from Brazil
World Trade Organization G/SPS/GEN/609 8 December 2005 (05-5793) Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures Original: Spanish CLASSICAL SWINE FEVER – BRAZILIAN EXPERIENCE IN REGIONALIZATION Communication from Brazil The following communication, received on 2 December 2005, is being circulated at the request of the delegation of Brazil. _______________ In 2001, Brazil established its classical swine fever (CSF) free zone, made up of the States of Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, Paraná, São Paulo, Minas Gerais, Goiás, Mato Grosso do Sul, Mato Grosso, Tocantins, Rio de Janeiro, Espírito Santo, Bahia, Sergipe, and the Federal District. These 14 States together account for almost 50 per cent of the Brazilian territory, and for almost the totality of commercial swine farms. This free zone was established in the wake of joint efforts by producers and government bodies over a number of consecutive years, beginning with the investigations th