

13 November 2020

(20-8159) Page: 1/1

REPORT (2020) OF THE COMMITTEE ON TRADE IN CIVIL AIRCRAFT

(ADOPTED 11 NOVEMBER 2020)

- 1. This report is submitted under Article 8.2 of the Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft (hereinafter the "Agreement") and Article IV.8 of the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization. It sets out the activities of the Committee since the last meeting (held on 4 November 2019).
- 2. There are 33 Signatories to the Agreement: Albania; Canada; Egypt; the European Union¹ (the following 19 EU Member States are also Signatories to the Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft in their own right: Austria; Belgium; Bulgaria; Denmark; Estonia; France; Germany; Greece; Ireland; Italy; Latvia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; the Netherlands; Portugal; Romania; Spain and Sweden); Georgia; Japan; Macao, China; Montenegro; North Macedonia; Norway; Switzerland; Chinese Taipei; the United Kingdom² and the United States. WTO Members with observer status in the Committee are: Argentina; Australia; Bangladesh; Brazil; Cameroon; China; Colombia; Gabon; Ghana; India; Indonesia; Israel; Korea, Republic of; Mauritius; Nigeria; Oman; Russian Federation; Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of; Singapore; Sri Lanka; Tajikistan; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey and Ukraine. The IMF and UNCTAD are also observers.
- 3. Since its last Annual Report to the General Council (WT/L/1071–TCA/15), the Committee on Trade in Civil Aircraft held one informal meeting on 3 November 2020 and one regular meeting on 11 November 2020.
- 4. At the regular meeting, the Committee took note of the report of the Chairperson on the developments concerning the Protocol done in November 2015. At the request of certain Participants, the chair stated that she will hold informal consultations on how to proceed regarding the next HS transposition of the product Annex. The Committee agreed to adopt a guidance note regarding Article 9.1.3 of the Agreement.³ Finally, the Committee agreed to the timing of the next regular meeting.⁴
- 5. The Technical Sub-Committee of the Committee on Trade in Civil Aircraft did not meet during the period under review and neither did the Sub-Committee of the Committee on Trade in Civil Aircraft.

¹ Currently comprising 27 Member States: Austria; Belgium; Bulgaria; Croatia; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Ireland; Italy; Latvia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; the Netherlands; Poland; Portugal; Romania; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; Spain and Sweden.

² The United Kingdom withdrew from the European Union as of 1 February 2020. The European Union and the United Kingdom have communicated that during the transition period, which ends on31 December 2020, European Union law, with a few limited exceptions, continues to be applicable to and in the United Kingdom. See WT/LET/1462 and WT/GC/206.

³ To be circulated as TCA/17.

⁴ Minutes of this meeting will be issued as document TCA/M/37.